OruxMaps
Visit the new forum: <a href="http://www.oruxmaps.com/foro">OruxMaps</a>

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

OruxMaps
Visit the new forum: <a href="http://www.oruxmaps.com/foro">OruxMaps</a>
OruxMaps
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Scanned Ordnance Survey Maps - A Tutorial

2 posters

Go down

Scanned Ordnance Survey Maps - A Tutorial Empty Scanned Ordnance Survey Maps - A Tutorial

Post  djbog Sun Jun 20, 2010 2:34 pm

This tutorial will show you how to get a scan of a GB Ordnance Survey map to show up on your phone. I'm no expert, this just toook me a while to figure out so I've posted it here in case it helps anyone out.

Things you need:

• A scanned OS Map (mine is made of 12 A4 scans stitched together in Photoshop, use The GIMP as a free alternative)
  • OziExplorer
  • OruxMapsDesktop

How to do it:

1. Start OziExplorer Trial
  2. Go to ‘File’ -> ‘Load and Calibrate Map Image’
  3. Under the ‘Setup’ tab on the right of the screen, fill in ‘Map Name’ with whatever you want. ‘Map Datum’ should be ‘Ord Srvy Grt Britn’. Under ‘Map Projection’ select ‘(BNG) British National Grid’.
  4. Click the tab that says ‘Point 1’.
  5. Choose a point near the top left of the map where two grid lines cross and click it in the main window. Be as accurate as you can. A red circle with ‘1’ next to it should appear.
  6. On the right hand side of the screen under ‘BNG Coordinates fill in ‘Zone’ with the Zone of your map. This is given on the key of your OS map and will be two letters, mine is ‘SD’.
  7. Under ‘Easting’ and ‘Northing’ type the grid coordinates of the point you have just marked. So if the coordinates are 80, 73 you would enter ‘80000’ for Easting and ‘73000’ for Northing.
  8. Continue with three more points in the rest of the corners.
  9. Once you have finished all four points, click ‘Save’ and a ‘something.map’ file will be generated.