OruxMaps
Visit the new forum: <a href="http://www.oruxmaps.com/foro">OruxMaps</a>

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

OruxMaps
Visit the new forum: <a href="http://www.oruxmaps.com/foro">OruxMaps</a>
OruxMaps
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Created map! ... how to install it to the SD card using an app (apk)?

2 posters

Go down

Created map! ... how to install it to the SD card using an app (apk)? Empty Created map! ... how to install it to the SD card using an app (apk)?

Post  jluers Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:07 am

I succeeded in creating a nice topo map using raw data from USGS (elevation data), NHD (rivers and lakes), DOT (roads) and it works great in ORUXMAPS !!! How cool!

Now, I'd like to automate the installation process of copying it to the SD Card by using an app.

I'm VERY new to Android development (I'm still working on the Hello World app) so any details would be very helpful.
How do I create an app (APK) who's ONLY purpose is to install/copy a map to the oruxmaps/mapfiles folder on the SD Card ??

I've found plenty of info on creating very sophisticated apps but nothing so far on the simple task of installing (copying) a file to the SD Card.

tHx!

jluers

Cantidad de envíos : 14

Back to top Go down

Created map! ... how to install it to the SD card using an app (apk)? Empty Re: Created map! ... how to install it to the SD card using an app (apk)?

Post  orux Thu Jan 27, 2011 6:53 pm

jluers wrote:I succeeded in creating a nice topo map using raw data from USGS (elevation data), NHD (rivers and lakes), DOT (roads) and it works great in ORUXMAPS !!! How cool!

Now, I'd like to automate the installation process of copying it to the SD Card by using an app.

I'm VERY new to Android development (I'm still working on the Hello World app) so any details would be very helpful.